The Red Pill

No. Not the documentary that has gotten recent attention, and no I’m not talking about the Men’s Rights movement. This post relates to something I didn’t really want to touch on this blog, firstly because I thought the Social Justice Warrior sideshow was a distraction from the actual creators of today’s issues – ie an elite ruling class – but also because the arguments were actually quite boring.

Both sides of the debate were just throwing recycled talking points at each other. Whether they were talking about genders, pay gaps, harmful effects of objectification, or cultural appropriation, it was just two sides yelling at each other. It was “SJWs” versus “antifeminists” or “SJWs” versus “Trump Supporters”. To distill the thrust of the arguments, it was just “them” versus “them”.

I wanted to stay out of it, because I felt that people were targeting the wrong people.

Not that I think that this blog somehow matters in the big scheme of things, either. My stats would attest to the true nobody I really am.

Today I found this video from Appabend, which talks about “Being Red Pilled” and that popular vlogger and prominent “SJW” Laci Green was starting to open up some dialogue.

Now I couldn’t give fewer shits about “sides” in this little war. As I’ve said before, I’m fairly moderate and I would have beliefs that piss off all sides. I’ve also mentioned cults before, and even talked about warning signs. Appabend’s video has set off a warning flag for cultism.

My post on cultism signs is here.

From that post, I paste the below criterion;

  • The group widely perceives itself as more enlightened than regular people in society.

Following from Laci Green’s recently revelation about taking the Red Pill, and Appabend talks about his “Red Pilling” experience, and talks about how he is now “enlightened”, I cannot ignore this warning sign of cultism. I get that Appabend is a relatively minor Youtube personality, and is not indicative of a group as a whole, but if his view of his philosophy is represented elsewhere, then we could be on the precipice of a downhill slide into cultism.

I will say that I often agree with Appabend’s videos, and I watch his stuff frequently. Onto the subject he talks about – Laci Green – I would approach this situation with cautious optimism.

Considering the great divide in political discourse and the recent unwillingness to engage in debate, I would applaud anyone who takes a look outside their ideology and maybe – even for a moment – consider the thrust of their opponent’s arguments. If we want a population without division, we need to acknowledge other sides, let the extremists “out” themselves as unhinged, and then shape policy and governing with reasoned debate and compromise.

The moment that I see the potential for a cult, I immediately start looking for figureheads. Who is positioning themselves to be prominent, and therefore who could stand to make money? Certainly both sides of the Social Justice divide have prominent faces, and Laci Green could well be a turncoat who wants to hedge her bets a bit. Even if that’s the case, I applaud anyone who is willing to engage in reasoned, honest debate instead of simply dismissing opposition as fascists.

I say that the Social Justice arguments are boring, but that’s not to say I don’t think it’s interesting. I think there’s a genuine debate to be had here, but for all the yelling, cultism, cynical money grabs and drama, I can’t make any sense of it. I’ll watch on, but all this talk of “red pilling” and “SJWs” and other jargon has made me suspicious.

Leave a Reply

