Oscars crowd mixing with the commoners

This is probably more a sign of my own cynicism than anything else.

I’ve never particularly cared for awards shows, Oscars included. It isn’t because of some intellectual reason, such as how it’s insufferable navel-gaving, or the show costing enough money to feed an entire lower-class neighbourhood. Nor was it something as benign as simply finding it boring.

I just never really cared. I would see it on television, regard it for a moment, take in the sight of dazzling lights, attractive people and back-slapping laughter, before returning outside to ride my BMX around the yard.

Because I read the news for reasons that still utterly bewilder me, I understood that there was a moment in the Oscar’s ceremony in where the gathering of actors allowed some commoners in the room so that they could be surprised by being blessed with the company of actors.

My cynicism would suggest that this might be a case of them being damned if they do/don’t. I mean, I might have criticised the Oscars for being a room full of rich people detached from the plight of the real world. But now that they’ve done this little stunt, here I am criticising them for being rich people letting real people into their little world – even if for about five minutes.

To look at this stunt superficially, you’d surmise that this is just Jimmy Kimmel being Jimmy Kimmel, and that he was treating the Oscars as an extension of his late night show. Perhaps.

To be a cynic like me, you’d see Hollywood actors realising that their detachment with common people has resulted in regular people rejecting them and their opinions. It was this rejection that cost Hillary the election, after she trotted out celebrity endorsement after celebrity endorsement. This stunt was an attempt to show that actors and Hollywood still have the “common touch”.

Ockham’s Razor would suggest that the former explanation would be the most likely. But if you look at the name of this blog, you’d see that I’d tend to the latter. People who have usually held large amounts of power tend to always want to keep it, and those people have realised that their pandering to their followers resulted in them losing.

This gesture was an attempt to make Hollywood more relateable.

I don’t buy it.

Leave a Reply

